chefkelly's blog

August 28, 2009

Annual Detox, liver cleanse with Dr. Schulz = no food for 3 days…

Filed under: becoming a chef, Chef Kelly — chefkelly @ 2:01 pm
DSC_0049I’m not the “hard-core” kind of a person to be detoxing, eating raw food, wearing birkies, hemp clothes and becoming a vegan.  But I do think that for all of the times you’ve had something you knew was bad for you (bacon, cake, maybe not together), your body has to work pretty hard trying to break down this “bad” thing.  Just like some of the fat that may build up around the pipes if you poured some bacon grease down the drain (yuk), so I think would be similar with your body.  There’s also the whole oil change/don’t take care of your car, then what happens to it analogy…  And we all know from our Biology class that liver produces bile which creates all these neat little enzymes that detox your body and breaks bad stuff down. 
 
SO- once a year (Dr. Schulz’s program recommends every season but I can’t just imagine doing that in midst of my busy schedule) – we decide to detox for a total of 5 days; 2 days of raw food (fruits/veggie only) and 3 days sandwiched in between of liquid diet/fasting/no eating – well you get the point.  The point being, let’s get your liver on its tip-top shape so that it can continue to be a smooth running machine.  So we’re on day 2, the first day of liquids only and it hasn’t been that bad.  It’s mind over matter, hubby says, and yup, it’s just as much a psychological thing as not eating/chewing itself.  I can’t say that I’m really hungry (after all, I had a whole 2 cups of diluted carrot and celery juice for lunch, wooohoo~), but I do feel a little lethargic, dizzy and that damn headache – makes me feel like a bobblehead.  I keep thinking about what I’d eat when I’m done, and going woohoo – 1 day almost done but then ugggh – 2 more days of this to go – but all in all – know that I’m doing the right thing “spring cleaning” my body. 
 
I swear they make it tricky so that the detox program seems more complicated than it is.  What you see in the refilled water bottles are detox tea, detox and l-gb shots (i just realized i don’t know what the lgb stands for…and dr schulz doesn’t explain it), potassium broth (basically a veggie broth) and superfoods – a food supplement that looks like chopped grass but is full of all things good blended with fresh fruit juice.
 
This is one of the commitments to my body, so that I can continue to be healthy while enjoying some of the “bad” food in moderation. 
 
So off I go to drinking more liquids (ymmmm~ veggie broth) and going “dark” for a few days. 
 
I’ll be dreaming up the list of meals I want when we’re done with detox early next week.  Taking any suggestions….
 
Made with LOTS of love; love for food; love for life.
 
–ck
 

3 Comments »

  1. So it sounds like the logic goes like this: Clean up your room, so you can mess it up again! Haha!!

    This will be our THIRD annual liver detox, and there’s no way I could have gotten through it without you!!

    Looking forward to eating some BAD stuff tomorrow!!

    Comment by Your husband — August 31, 2009 @ 12:27 pm

  2. Fresh ginger tea is the best thing to cleanse the liver. Squeeze a large piece of fresh giner through a garlic press and boil it in a pot of water. You should try to make it as strong as you can stand it. Tania is taking a LOT of drugs to try to kill her lyme disease, her doctor has her drink this whenever her liver starts complaining.

    Comment by Steve Witten — September 9, 2009 @ 10:59 pm

    • That’s really helpful to know! I knew ginger was good for you. We make this drink called liver flush while we do the liver detox that may sound little gross at first but you really get to like it.

      8 oz freshly squeezed OJ and lemon juice. 8oz distilled water. 2-3 cloves of garlic. 2-3 tbsp of olive oil. 1-2 inches long of fresh ginger. Blend all in a magic bullet (see kitchen gadget tab) and drink. Not only do you get a burst of energy but it really seems to clean out your system.

      Hope you are recovering well. It’s Korean jujube season now and my mom says jujube tea with ginger and honey’s great for healing your body.

      Comment by chefkelly — September 10, 2009 @ 8:45 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.